After creating the Paris Play-Direct Academy, the Orchestre de chambre de Paris is pursuing its commitment to young musicians and launching an academy in 2021/2022 to encourage the emergence of young women composers.

Composing in the feminine

Promoting parity in the world of classical music is a strong commitment of the Orchestre de chambre de Paris. Today, women are still in a very small minority of composers. To overcome this problem, the Orchestre de chambre de Paris has joined forces with Thomas Lacôte and Clara Olivares to set up an academy dedicated to young women musicians who do not yet dare to take the step of composing. This multi-year academy is an incubator for young women creators and an opportunity to learn about writing for orchestra.

It is aimed at young women musicians at the start of their career, from the conservatories in Paris and Ile-de-France. A space for discussion with professional musicians, it is neither a school nor a conservatory, but a real laboratory promoting interaction. Several writing workshops per family of instruments are planned during the two years of training. The musicians of the Orchestre de chambre de Paris are called upon to share with each academician their feedback on their work.

The academicians are supervised by an artistic team made up of Clara Olivares, composer, Thomas Lacôte, composer and organist, and Lars Vogt, musical director of the Orchestre de chambre de Paris. To conclude this apprenticeship, each academician receives a commission for an orchestral piece performed by the Orchestre de chambre de Paris, conducted by Lars Vogt, its musical director, at the Théâtre du Châtelet.

“This original academy is a journey over a long period, a real immersion within the orchestra. » – Thomas Lacôte

2021 Edition

The 4 composers-academicians
Ana Meunier
BIOGRAPHY
Farnaz Modarresifar
BIOGRAPHY
Selim Jeon
BIOGRAPHY
Haeun Choi
BIOGRAPHY
The artistic team
Clara Olivares

Associate composer of the Orchestre de chambre de Paris

BIOGRAPHY
Thomas Lacôte

Artistic curator, composer, organist

BIOGRAPHY
Lars Vogt

Musical director of the Orchestre de chambre de Paris

BIOGRAPHY

Schedule

In May 2021, four young musicians under the age of thirty were auditioned and selected from fifteen candidates from the music conservatories of the Ile-de-France region (CRR). Based on preparatory work and a motivational interview, the selection was made with Deborah Nemtanu, solo violin super soloist of the Orchestre de chambre de Paris, and Thomas Lacôte, artistic curator, composer and organist.

The calendar of the first season of this academy foresees writing workshops for strings and winds, then the realization of a written miniature for small orchestra which will be conducted by Lars Vogt in spring 2022. Academicians will benefit from direct contact with around ten volunteer musicians from the Orchester de Chambre de Paris who, alongside the artistic team, will support them in their creative process. Finally, to offer everyone the widest possible panel, they will be invited to discover all the components of an orchestra and will discuss with the orchestra’s administrative services: control room, library, production.

2021-2022 season

May / June 2021 :

  • meeting with potential candidates
  • Motivational interview

Fall / winter 2021

September 20:

  • meeting with Lars Vogt and the musicians of the orchestra
  • meeting with the artistic team
  • exploration and discovery of scores
  • preparation of workshops with Thomas Lacôte and Clara Olivares

November 12:

  • Workshop “Writing for strings”

December 3:

  • Workshop “Writing for Winds”

Spring / summer 2022:

  • small group concert conducted by Lars Vogt

 

2022-2023 season

Fall / winter 2022

  • 1 meeting session with orchestra leaders, presentation, listening to scores
  • 1 percussion workshop
  • 2 or 3 individual indoor sessions for major training sessions, including one with a mentor
  • 1 collective workshop to prepare the score and the parts with the librarian

Spring / summer 2023

  • 1 public workshop with the orchestra
  • 1 group session with debriefing
  • post-workshop rewrites
  • rehearsals and concert on piece for orchestra
First workshop of 20/09/21
First workshop of 20/09/21
First workshop of 20/09/21
First workshop of 20/09/21
First workshop of 20/09/21
First workshop of 20/09/21
Contacts
Chrysoline Dupont

Programming Director of the Orchestre de chambre de Paris 

CONTACTER
Lucy Boccadoro

Press relations

CONTACTER

The OCP-Transmission program includes and federates the transmission and professional support actions of the Orchestre de chambre de Paris.

Académie des jeunes compositrices

Après avoir créé la Paris Play-Direct Academy, l’Orchestre de chambre de Paris poursuit son engagement auprès des jeunes musiciens et lance une académie pour favoriser l’émergence de jeunes compositrices.

Composer au féminin 

Promouvoir la parité dans le monde de la musique classique est un engagement fort de l’Orchestre de chambre de Paris. Aujourd’hui, les femmes demeurent encore très minoritaires dans la composition. Pour pallier cet écueil, l’Orchestre de chambre de Paris s’associe à Thomas Lacôte et Clara Olivares pour la mise en place d’une académie dédiée à de jeunes musiciennes qui n’osent pas encore franchir le pas de la composition. Académie pluriannuelle, elle est un incubateur pour de jeunes créatrices et une opportunité de se former à l’écriture pour orchestre.

Elle s’adresse à de jeunes musiciennes en début de parcours, issues des conservatoires de la Ville de Paris et d’Ile-de-France. Espace d’échange avec des musiciens professionnels, elle n’est ni une école ni un conservatoire, mais un véritable laboratoire favorisant l’interaction. Plusieurs ateliers d’écriture par famille d’instruments sont prévus au cours des deux années de formation. Les musiciens de l’Orchestre de chambre de Paris sont appelés à partager avec chaque académicienne leur retour d’expérience sur leurs travaux. 

Les académiciennes sont encadrées par une équipe artistique composée de Clara Olivares, compositrice, Thomas Lacôte, compositeur et organiste, et Lars Vogt, directeur musical de l’Orchestre de chambre de Paris. Pour conclure cet apprentissage, chaque académicienne reçoit la commande d’une pièce d’orchestre jouée par l’Orchestre de chambre de Paris, dirigé par Lars Vogt, son directeur musical, au Théâtre du Châtelet.

« Cette académie originale est un parcours sur un temps long, une véritable immersion au sein de l’orchestre. » Thomas Lacôte

Édition 2021

Les 4 compositrices-académiciennes
Ana Meunier
BIOGRAPHIE
Farnaz Modarresifar
BIOGRAPHIE
Selim Jeon
BIOGRAPHIE
Haeun Choi
BIOGRAPHIE
L’Équipe artistique
Clara Olivares

Compositrice associée de l’Orchestre de chambre de Paris

BIOGRAPHIE
Thomas Lacôte

Curateur artistique, compositeur, organiste

BIOGRAPHIE
Lars Vogt

Directeur musical de l’Orchestre de chambre de Paris

BIOGRAPHIE

Calendrier

En mai 2021, quatre jeunes musiciennes de moins de trente ans ont été auditionnées et retenues parmi une quinzaine de candidates issus de conservatoires de musique franciliens (CRR). Sur la base de travaux préparatoires et d’un entretien de motivation, la sélection s’est faite avec Deborah Nemtanu, violon solo super soliste de l’Orchestre de chambre de Paris, et Thomas Lacôte, curateur artistique, compositeur, organiste.

Le calendrier de la première saison de cette académie prévoit des ateliers d’écriture pour les cordes et les vents, puis la réalisation d’une miniature écrite pour petit orchestre qui sera dirigé par Lars Vogt au printemps 2022. Les académiciennes bénéficieront d’un contact direct avec dix musiciens volontaires de l’Orchestre de chambre de Paris qui, aux côtés de l’équipe artistique, les accompagneront dans leur processus de création. Enfin, pour offrir à chacune un panel le plus large possible, elles seront invitées à découvrir toutes les composantes d’un orchestre et échangeront avec les services administratifs de l’orchestre : régie, bibliothèque, production.

Saison 2021-2022

Mai / juin 2021 :

  • rencontre avec les candidates potentielles
  • entretien de motivation

Automne / hiver 2021

20 Septembre 2021 :

  • rencontre avec Lars Vogt et les musiciens de l’orchestre
  • rencontre avec l’équipe artistique
  • exploration et découverte des partitions
  • préparation des ateliers avec Thomas Lacôte et Clara Olivares

12 Novembre 2021 :

  • atelier « Ecrire pour les cordes »

3 Décembre 2021 :

  • atelier « Ecrire pour les vents »

22 Avril 2022 :

  • Une miniature pour 10 musiciens (quintette à cordes, quintette à vent) sera exécutée sous la direction de Lars Vogt à la Philharmonie de Paris (SR2).

 

Saison 2022-2023

Automne / hiver 2022

  • 1 session de rencontre avec les responsables de l’orchestre, présentation, écoute des partitions
  • 1 atelier percussions
  • 2 ou 3 sessions individuelles sur pièce pour grande formation, dont une avec marraine
  • 1 atelier collectif de préparation de la partition et des parties avec le bibliothécaire

Printemps / été 2023

  • 1 atelier en public avec l’orchestre
  • 1 session collective avec un débriefing
  • réécritures post-atelier
  • répétitions et concert sur pièce pour orchestre
Premier atelier du 20/09/21
Premier atelier du 20/09/21
Premier atelier du 20/09/21
Premier atelier du 20/09/21
Premier atelier du 20/09/21
Premier atelier du 20/09/21
Contacts
Chrysoline Dupont

Directrice de la programmation de l’Orchestre de chambre de Paris 

CONTACTER
Lucy Boccadoro

Relations Presse

CONTACTER

Le programme OCP-Transmission comprend et fédère les actions de transmission et d’accompagnement professionnel de l’Orchestre de chambre de Paris.